STUDENT SUPPORT SERVICES

                 

Hollister School District

Student Support Services/
Special Education Department 

The Hollister Elementary School District recognizes its responsibility to provide a free and
appropriate public education to eligible students with disabilities within its district boundaries. 
The District has a "child find" process that is designed to locate, identify and evaluate children
with disabilities residing within its district boundaries transitional kindergarten through grade 8.

If you know a child who lives within the boundaries of the Hollister Elementary School District
and attends school in the District who may be in the need of special education and/or related
services, please contact the Special Education Department for further information regarding
the referral and evaluation process. 

The District's Child Find process extends to students with physical or mental impairments that
substantially limit a major life activity.  Such students may be eligible for services or
accommodations pursuant to Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act. Section 504 is a Federal civil
 rights statute that prohibits discrimination against persons with disabilities and programs
receiving Federal financial assistance.  Please contact your child's principal for more information
regarding Section 504 eligibility and services.


Categories of Disability under the IDEA for Children aged 3 through 21

  • Autism (AUT)
  • Deaf-blindness (DB)
  • Deafness (D)
  • Emotional disturbance (ED)
  • Hearing impairment (HH)
  • Intellectual disability (ID)
  • Multiple Disabilities (MD)
  • Orthopedic impairment (OI)
  • Other health impairment (OHI)
  • Specific learning disability (SLD)
  • Speech or language impairment (SLI)
  • Traumatic brain injury (TBI)
  • Visual impairment (VI)

Special Education is specially designed instruction for students with exceptional learning needs.

Hollister Elementary School District’s Special Education Department includes, but is not limited
to the following services:

  • Special Day Classes (Mild/Moderate)
  • Special Day Classes (Moderate/Severe)
  • Resource Specialist Programs
  • Speech and Language Therapy
  • Counseling 
  • Adaptive P.E.
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Behavioral Supports
  • Vision and Mobility Supports
  • Hard of Hearing Supports
  • Other Specialized Supports determined by student needs

Our staff has the knowledge to creatively meet the needs of the variety of learners within our
programs. 


CONTACTS

Contact Name/Title

Phone

Email

Rick Lust

Director

831-313-3389

rlust@hesd.org

Dr. Micaela Gomez

Coordinator

831-313-3372

mgomez@hesd.org

TBH

Coordinator

TBD

TBD

Chet Raskin

Principal, Regional Programs (SDC)

831-313-3364

craskin@hesd.org

Jane Bambrick

Behavior Specialist

831-313-3408

jbambrick@hesd.org

Reena Sharma

Program Specialist

831-313-3373

rsharma@hesd.org

Barbara Stillwell

Program Specialist

831-313-3388

bstillwell@hesd.org

Josefina Garcia-Silva

Secretary Support services

831-630-6358

jgarcia@hesd.org

Toni Vargas

Executive Secretary

831-630-6356

tvargas@hesd.org

Marylou Martinez

Office Assistant/Front Desk

831-630-6350

marylou@hesd.org


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.